Chathannoor Sree Boothanatha Temple

Chathannoor is a town in Kerala situated at the Kollam District on the banks of Ithikkara River. It is about 17 KM from Kollam City towards NH47 to Trivandrum.It is around 50 km north of the state capital Thiruvananthapuram on the National Highway 47 (NH 47). We can easily access Paravoor, and Varkala towns from here. It is one of the fastest developing towns in Kerala. It is a Special Grade Panchayath in Kollam District.

How to reach

Chathannoor is well connected to other parts of Kerala by road. National Highway (NH47), which connects Selam and Kanyakumari, passes through Chathannoor. NH 47 is passing through the centre of the town. Kollam Railway station is 18 km from the town and is well connected by buses. The nearest airport is Thiruvanathapuram International Airport. Nearest Railway Station in Paravoor about 8KM.Buses plying between Kottarakara and Chathannoor are aplenty. Main routes are:

Chathannoor-Ithikkara-Kottiyam-Kollam - 16 km

Chathannoor-Kummalloor- Kottara- Nalkkavala- Pooyappally- Veliyam -Kottarakkara- 22 km

Chathannoor- Pooyappally - Mylode - Elamad - Ayoor - 23 km

Chathannoor-Thirumukku- Meenad - Paravoor - 10 km

Chathannoor- Varinjam - Kalluvathukkal- Parippally - 8 km

Chathannoor-K.S.R.T.C.Bus Station and Mini Civil Station(Uramvila)-1 km

chathannoor -block office jun- 1.5km

Chathannoor - Railwaystation ( Kollam) -14 km

Chathannoor - International Airport (Trivandrum )-50 km

Educational Instituitions

MES Engineering College,Chathannoor(njavaroor)
Sree Narayana College, Chathannoor(karamcodu)
,G.H.S.S Chathannoor,NSS HSS Chathannoor,Vimala School Chathannoor,S.N trust HSSchool Chathannoor, Sreenikethan Central School, Uliyanad G.H.S, Christhos Marthoma School and S.M.V.U.P School


Chathanoor assembly constituency is part of Kollam (Lok Sabha constituency). It Include 6 Panchayath and One Municipality such as Adichanalloor, Chathannoor,Kalluvathukkal, Chirakkara, Poothakkulam, Pooyappally and Paravoor Municipality

G.S Jayalal is the present M.L.A.(2011–2016) representing Chathannoor in Kerala Legislature Assembly Chathannoor has produced three ministers of Kerala State Cabinet, Sri.P.Ravindran, Sri. J.Chitharanjan and Sri.C.V.Padmarajan